Court Information Release



United States District Court Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division 219 South Dearborn Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604

Release Date:

February 27, 2017

Contact: Julie Hodek, Public Information Officer

United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois 219 S. Dearborn St., #2514A

Chicago, IL 60604 312-435-5693

District Court for the Northern District of Illinois Hosts Seminar Aimed at Creating Representative Juries

Chicago, Ill.- On February 23, 2017, the District Court for the Northern District of Illinois hosted the State and Federal Jury Representation Seminar for judges, clerks of court, law clerks, court administrators, jury administrators and jury coordinators from federal and state courts throughout Illinois.

The purpose of the seminar was to discuss the desirability of diverse juries for decision-making and to identify methods to achieve representative juries. The seminar included panels on Race and Jury Selection, Techniques and Procedures for Increasing Citizen Participation in the Jury System, Challenges to Jury Diversity, Representative Deliberation, Achieving Diversity on the Jury, Obstacles to Representative Deliberation, and Practical Issues for Judges.

"We are excited to host this seminar and create a forum we hope will result in courts taking concrete action to increase citizen participation in our jury system and to create more representative juries. Ensuring that juries reflect our district's ethnic and racial diversity has been and will continue to be a key priority for our court," said Chief Judge Rubén Castillo.

Panelists included the following individuals:

Professor Jeffrey B. Abramson, University of Texas at Austin School of Law Hon. Walter D. Braud, Chief Judge, 14th Circuit
Thomas G. Bruton, Clerk of Court, U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Illinois Hon. Rubén Castillo, Chief Judge, U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Illinois Hon. Sharon Johnson Coleman, U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Illinois Professor Shari Seidman Diamond, Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law Hon. Timothy C. Evans, Chief Judge, Circuit Court of Cook County Paula Hannaford-Agor, Director, Center for Jury Studies, National Center for State Courts

Hon. Arthur F. Hill, Circuit Court of Cook County

Hon. William H. Hooks, Circuit Court of Cook County

Hon. Matthew F. Kennelly, U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Illinois

Hon. Stephen A. Kouri, 10th Circuit, Jury Representation Seminar Committee

Hon. Joseph G. McGraw, Chief Judge, 17th Circuit; Chair, Conference of Chief Circuit Judges

Hon. Rebecca R. Pallmeyer, U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Illinois

Professor Destiny Peery, Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law

Todd A. Schroeder, Assistant Director, Court Services Division, Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts

Hon. Michael P. Toomin, Circuit Court of Cook County

###



Above photo provided by Illinois Supreme Court









Above photo provided by Illinois Supreme Court